Looking for the next read for your book club? We’ve rounded up our favorite picks for spring that are sure to provide your book club with laughter, tears, and stimulating conversation.

1. Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
Trust us—and Jojo Moyes—you won’t be able to walk away from this book without falling in love with Eleanor.

“Eleanor Oliphant is a truly original literary creation: funny, touching, and unpredictable. Her journey out of dark shadows is absolutely gripping.” —Jojo Moyes, bestselling author of Me Before You

 

 

2. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
Following the parallel paths of two Ghanaian half sisters and their descendants through eight generations, Yaa Gyasi’s extraordinary debut novel illuminates slavery’s troubled legacy both for those who were sold into slavery and those who stayed in Africa—and shows how the memory of captivity has been inscribed on the soul of our nation.

“Homegoing is an inspiration.” —Ta-Nehisi Coates, bestselling author of Between the World and Me

 


3. The
Girls by Emma Cline
An instant bestseller and one of the best books of 2016, Emma Cline’s debut is an indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong.

“Spellbinding . . . a seductive and arresting coming-of-age story.” —The New York Times Book Review

 


4. Saints
for All Occasions by J. Courtney Sullivan
A new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Maine, about the hope, sacrifice, and love between two sisters and the secret that drives them apart.

“What a beautiful, beautiful book. I loved this family, recognized them, cheered them on and cried for them. Like the very best novels of our time, Saints for All Occasions will engage both your head and your heart.” Elin Hilderbrand

 


5. The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir by Jennifer Ryan

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

“A charming slice of English wartime life that warms the soul like a hot toddy.” —Martha Hall Kelly, bestselling author of Lilac Girls

 


6. The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti

From the prize-winning author of The Good Thief, a coming-of-age novel and a literary thrill ride about the price we pay to protect the people we love most.

“Can a man be both a violent criminal and a good father? Imagine a Quentin Tarantino movie crossed with a John Green novel, and you’ll have a sense of what this coming-of-age novel is like.” —Entertainment Weekly

 


7. Eggshells by Caitriona Lally

A whimsical, touching debut about loneliness, friendship and hope. Debut author Caitriona Lally offers readers an exhilaratingly fresh take on the Irish love for lyricism, humor, and inventive wordplay in a book that is, in itself, deeply charming, and deeply moving.

“Delightfully quirky . . . Vivian’s voice alone is enough to keep us reading, charmed by her unique brand of manic, word-hoarding wit.” —The Irish Independent 

 


8. Anything Is Possible by Elizabeth Strout

An unforgettable cast of small-town characters copes with love and loss, the deep bonds of family, and the hope that comes with reconciliation.

“It’s hard to believe that a year after the astonishing My Name Is Lucy Barton Elizabeth Strout could bring us another book that is by every measure its equal, but what Strout proves to us again and again is that where she’s concerned, anything is possible. This book, this writer, are magnificent.” —Ann Patchett

 


9. Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Vacationers, a smart, highly entertaining novel about a tight-knit group of friends from college— and what it means to finally grow up, well after adulthood has set in.

“It’s Friends meets Almost Famous meets the beach read you’ll be recommending all summer.” —TheSkimm

 


10. Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies.

“[An] ingenious resetting . . . with considerably more humor and gentleness than in the Bard’s version.” —The Washington Post

 


11. The Stars Are Fire by Anita Shreve

From the bestselling author of The Pilot’s Wife (an Oprah’s Book Club selection): a suspenseful novel about a woman tested by a catastrophic event and its aftermath—based on the true story of the largest fire in Maine’s history.

“Shreve is masterful at creating compelling characters whose inner conversations about love and intimacy are both heartfelt and heartrending.” USA Today

 


12. Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story. For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

“A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I’m still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls.” —Jamie Ford, bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

 


13. The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

Me Before You meets One Day in this devastatingly romantic debut novel about the enduring power of first love, with a shocking, unforgettable ending. A Love Story for a new generation.

“In this intense, deeply moving novel, Jill Santopolo vividly illuminates how our personal lives and loves are changed by the common—and uncommon—events of our troubled world.” —Nancy Thayer, bestselling author of The Island House

 


14. The Tea Planter’s Wife by Dinah Jefferies

An international bestselling novel set in 1920s Ceylon, about a young Englishwoman who marries a charming tea plantation owner and widower, only to discover he’s keeping terrible secrets about his past, including what happened to his first wife, that lead to devastating consequences.

“Rich and incredibly evocative, The Tea Planter’s Wife is historical fiction at its very best. It’s just spellbinding.”  —The Sunday Express

 

PRH Library Marketing administrator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *