Emma Cline, author of The Girls

Coming to your library on June 14th is The Girls by Emma Cline—an indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong. This promises to be an in-demand title. Place your hold today before the waitlist ramps up!

 

Penguin Random House staffer, Elizabeth, highly recommends The Girls and says:

“During the violent end of the 1960s, lonely teenager Evie Boyd becomes mesmerized with an older girl, and, desperate to be accepted, she is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult. Deftly capturing girlhood, peer pressure, and female friendship, Emma Cline’s debut is a wholly original coming-of-age story that will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides and A Visit from the Goon Squad.”

 

Want a sneak peek? Click to start reading now.

 

More advance praise for The Girls:

The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel—imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time.”—Richard Ford

“Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture’s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind.”—Lena Dunham

“Emma Cline’s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction.”—Jennifer Egan

“I don’t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline’s understanding of human beings or her mastery of language.”—Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

PRH Library Marketing administrator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *